The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. “

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide wheter the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests to allocate a greater share of the budget to the advertising. Although this memo seems credible at first glance, but few questions lead me to the unsoundness of this argument.

First, the director should answer to the question about the soundness of the report that he suggests. Past year is the only year considered that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies. Since it is only one year, it may be an abeyance. For the surer conclusion, the director should suggest the continuously negative data of at least five years. In addition, the real number of the positive review by movie reviewers may be marginal. In the memo, not the accurate number, but the percentage of the positive reviews is the only thing mentioned.

Second, the director also needs to answer to the question about the credibility of the positive reviews. The positive reviews suggested in here is only the review from the specific Super Screen movies, which implies that it is not about the whole movie from the company. Thus, it is hard to be generalized as the positive opinion among publics to the whole movie. In addition, public's opinion is so diverse that it cannot be dichotomized by positive and negative opinions only. Let us assume the situation that the negative opinions about the movie are extremely negative and the positive opinions about the movie are acceptably positive, but the positive opinions are little frequent than the negative opinion. In this case, it is hard to be interpreted as the positive public opinion toward the movie.

Lastly, questions about reliability of the public's lack of awareness should be answered as well. Even if the decreasing tendency of the attended people is true, it may due to other factors such as adverse economic condition, not due to the lack of the advertisement. In addition, it is possible that the problem is not in the budget for the advertisement, but in the method for the advertisement. If the company do their advertisement in wrong place, then it would be better to use their budget not in the additional advertisement, but in the consulting.

In brief, this argument is not credible in many aspects. To bolster the argument, the director should answer to the aforementioned questions: soundness of the report, positive reviews, and the public's lack of awareness.