The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

In this memorandum, the manager argues that the program should restore the time devoted to weather and local new to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further. Although this argument may seem convincing, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the manager should give more concrete evidence concerned with complaints received from viewers. Although most of the complaints received are related with the stations' coverage of weather and local news, the total number of it may be minute. For example, if there are only five complaints to the station, and four complaints are about the coverage issue, then since the number of the complaint itself is marginal, the problem may not be a big issue. Furthermore, they only monitor the result of coverage change only for one year. Thus, to conclude that the complaints of viewers is originated from the coverage issue, and also it is significant problem, the author should monitor the complaint for longer time such as five years.

Next, the manager should suggest sufficient evidence to prove the causal relationship between the coverage issue and the cancellation of advertising contracts. TV stations may change not only this policy but also other policies during past year. In this case, the cancellation of advertising contracts is possibly not affected by the coverage issue, but other policies such as increase of advertising cost. In addition, even the companies canceled the ads for late-night news program, they may open new contracts with other TV programs from same news station such as TV drama.

Lastly, additional pieces of evidence about the effect of restoration should be offered. Since there are no concrete evidence that the total number of viewers is decreased, they should investigate about it formerly before restoration. Additionally, the present viewers plausibly adapted to the composition of present TV station. In this case, the rash restoration may cause the negative effect in both of number of viewers and the advertising revenues.

According to the aforementioned three reasons, the manager should not rashly restore the coverage of the television station. More pieces of evidence that may adamantly support the decision should be supplied in precedence.