The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the director argues that Buckingham College needs to build a number of new dormitories to serve the housing needs of the college’s students. The argument seems valid at first, but the lack of pieces of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the director needs to provide concrete evidence on the increasing trend of the student number. The increasing trend of the present may be an aberration. The director should give the data of at least the past five years to demonstrate the increasing trend. Even if the increasing trend is true, 50 years is so substantial number that it cannot be used as the reference data for the reason why Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. The director should argue based on the number of students in the near future, three years for example.

Second, the director needs to add solid evidence about the rental fee of the off-campus housing tendency. The rising of the average rent for an apartment did not indicate the rising of the rent for the whole available apartment. It is possible that the new and expensive apartment has been built recently, which leads the increase of the average rental fee. Also, it is likely the rising of the rent is temporary. This rising of the rent may be due to the transient increase in the economic condition of the nearby neighborhood, which will fall down in future. The director should provide more detail about the rent tendency for at least five years.

Lastly, more adamant pieces of evidence about the consequence of the new building of the dormitory should be provided. There is no logical connection between the new dormitory and the lure of the prospective students. The prospective students that Buckingham College wants might be attracted by other conditions such as the prominent professors, abundant scholarship programs, and the beautiful college building, not by the new dormitory. In addition, it costs a significant amount of money to build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham College can use that budget to the other infrastructure, instead of the new dormitory.

In summary, the director of student housing’s argument is not credible in many aspects. Therefore, the director needs to provide more concrete pieces of evidence about the trend of the student number, the rent of the nearby apartment, and the validity of the new dormitory as the method to attract the prospective students. With these pieces of evidence, the built of the new dormitory should be reconsidered.