Argue 13: In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit fro 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that Prunty County should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County did five years ago to improve the highway safety. Although this argument considered as sound, but the lack of pieces of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author should provide more adamant evidence about the previous effort that Prunty County has done is failure. Because the lowering of the speed limit is started only a year ago, so it may not widely be known to the people of Prunty County. Thus, the result caused by the lowering of the speed limit should be observed for the longer period: not only for a year. Even if the new policy had been widely known, there can be another dominant reason of the accidents, not just because of the driving speed. For example, dangerous and complicated road can be one of the major reasons for the car accidents. Therefore, the data about the accident which caused by the fast car speed should be provided for the accurate comparison.

Second, the author needs to supplement the evidence about the reliability of the comparison between Prunty County and Butler County. In the Butler County, increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections are completed. However, all of that factors may effective only for the Butler County only. For instance, Prunty County may have already wide enough lane, smooth highways, and intersections with clear visibility. Thus, the independent conditions of the Butler County should be investigated, and provided.

Third, more specific pieces of evidence should be given whether the result in the Butler County is trustworthy or not. The decrease in the number of the accidents for 25% can be marginal amount if the original number of the accident is little. If the previous number of the accident is four and the later number of the accident is three, this case also has the decrease in the number of the accidents for 25%. In addition, the lowering of the accident number was compared with that of five years ago. It is possible that adverse weather condition yields the frequent car accident five years ago. Average car accident should be considered for more credible comparison.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not sound in many respects. To bolster the argument, the author needs to investigate more about the possibilities that could have influenced the accident rate.