Argue 56 The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

“A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks’ durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks’ stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc. argues that they should stop the Endure manufacturing process for their profit. Although this argument looks convincing at the first glance, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the vice president assumes that the durability of the socks they made is not significant because their average customer purchases the new Dura-Socks every three months. However, people did not possess only one pair of socks. This denotes that the shorter purchasing period than the life of the socks may not be directly connected to the low importance of the durability. Ordinary people have more than one pair of socks, and they may buy new one when one of them are old enough. In addition, the reason of the new purchase is possibly due to the new color or the seasonal change, not due to the durability of the socks. For example, the socks for the winter season may be too thick and hot for the summer season. They need additional new socks for the summer season.

Second, another assumption the vice president makes is that the survey results lead that the durability of the socks is not important. In the survey, the vice president suggests the result within the range of market for northeastern United States, not whole United States. Even if the market of the northeastern United States is the largest market for their company, it cannot be generalized as the tendency of whole United States. In addition, the suggested advantages as a result of the survey, stylish appearance and availability in many colors, is only the advantageous points, not the reason why they buy that socks. Since there are a gap between the advantages and the reason of the purchase, it cannot be directly interpreted as the vice president aforementioned.

Lastly, the vice president’s conclusion to discontinue the use of Endure manufacturing process is based on the assumption that it will increase profits. However, they might need an additional cost to modify their manufacturing process. The cost needs for the modification may overcome the cost that they possibly earn by the modification. Also, even if the result of the survey is trustworthy enough, still there are customers preferred the durability of the Dura-Sock. If the company modified the manufacturing process, they should take account about the possible loss of the customers who love their durability.

In brief, the vice president’s claim is unsound in many grounds. To bolster the argument, the vice president needs to reconsider the aforementioned assumptions.