Argue 157: The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

“Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the director argues that Top Dog Pet Stores should follow Fish Emporium to start making a profit again. Although the argument seems solid for the first glance, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to question the soundness of the argument.

First, the director assumes that the advertisement in Exotic Pet Monthly yields the profit increase directly. However, it is possible that the profit increase may be originated from the other factors such as the good economical condition of the society and the position of the Gulf City. Basically, raising a pet needs substantial money, so it is plausible that it is affected by the economical condition of the society significantly. In addition, if the position of the Gulf City is beside the gulf, then the citizens of Gulf City may familiar with the ocean creatures, and the interest about the fishes maybe larger with respect to other cities also.

Second, the assumption that the director made about the background of the commercial is not credible. Since the commercial was posted five years ago in magazine, so it may bring different effects for nowadays. The interest of the citizens, the economical condition of the citizen, and even the spare time to raise the pet of the citizen may totally different compared with the five years ago. In addition, the 15% of the profit increase is possibly minute quantity if the original profit is low. For example, if the original profit is the $ 100, then the profit they earn through the advertisement is only $ 15.

Lastly, the director assumes that the recent trend of declining sales may be diverted through the advertisement, and raise the profit of Top Dog Pet Stores. What if recent declining is not due to the lack of advertisement, but due to the other factors such as decreasing preference of the customers for the pet? Since there are many possible reasons for the sales declination, declining trend may not be affected by the advertisement. Even if the recent declining tendency is because of the lack of advertisement, advertising fee is needed for the advertisement. If the advertising fee overcomes the income that they possibly earn, then the advertisement is not the profit for Top Dog Pet Stores.

In brief, the author’s claim is unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author needs to support additional information that reinforce the aforementioned assumptions.