The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation supported by the planning department of the city of Transopolis is based on unsupported evidence, flawed reasoning and fallacious correlations. The consequence could be that the argument is a reflection of mere coincidences. In that sense, more evidence is needed to evaluate whether the recommendation is correct or not.

First, there is no evidence that the renewal program is related to the decrease of crime rates nor to the increase of property tax revenues. In this particular topic, the department should provide more evidence in order to strengthen the argument. For instance, it would be important to understand how the crime rate changed over these 10 years in the entire city. In other words, it is totally possible, and even likely, that the in 10 years the crime rate decreased in the city as a whole. In addition, this improvement in crime rates might be attributed to particular security policies that are not related with the program in question. If this was the case, one of the pillars supporting the recommendation would be false. In the same line, the department needs to explain and present evidence capable of linking the increase in property tax revenues and the program itself. Although it is possible that the two things are related, it could be a mere coincidence.

Second, the argument might be weaken due to flawed reasoning. Indeed, there is an underlying assumption of what revitalizing the city means and there are alternative views that can be opposed. Even if it is not totally explicit, the department claims that revitalizing the city means having more factories and displacing poor people to other areas. However, several studies and best practices in public policies have shown that investing in housing, commerce and communities might be more effective than creating industrial zones. It depends on what is the aim of the revitalization, but if it is to have a better quality of life and ensuring a city where well-being comes first, there are other alternatives to revitalize the city, such as creating new parks, investing in mixed areas with residential and commercial services, funding public transportation, etc. Therefore, it is important that the department explains what kind of revitalization they understand as the more important, so that people can measure the relation between the program and the impacts generated.

Another important topic is that, even if the department provides more evidence supporting that the program was a success indeed, there is no evidence that replicating the program in the opposite side of the city would have the same results. As there is no information about the city itself, it is hard to imagine if the neighborhoods have fundamental differences that could yield to totally different outcomes. Also, the program was implemented a decade ago and there might be new variables that influence the results. In that sense, the department should offer more explanations about how the implementation will occur and how the regional differences will be overcome.

To finish, it is relevant to note that the department is offering a very simplistic view about people’s displacement. Urbanistic and sociological literature have been expressing the complications related with displacing people, such as loss of vincules, decrease of community feelings, depression among other topics. It is imperative that the planning department of the city of Teresopolis provides more information about the impacts, including how many people are going to be displaced, how far are the neighborhoods and other topics.

To sum up, the recommendation is based on spurious correlation and provides no strong evidence capable of sustaining the argument. In fact, if some of the points stated in the previous paragraphs were true, the argument would be terribly weaken. Therefore, if the planning department of the city of Transopolis wants to convince the mayor and the society it needs to carry out some further studies that can shed light in the unanswered questions. However, even if more evidence is provided, the argument is based on a ideological view of what revitalizing a city means that might not be wanted by the citizens of Transopolis.