Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Although it might seem advantageous to focus scientific research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people, since scientific research might yield to discoveries not yet predicted, it is fundamental that no restrictions are made in the scientific field. In other words, the government should not imposed any restrictions in scientific research, because even if at a slow path, researchers must conduct their works to unpredicted results that can impact more people than previously imagined.

Science is an uncertain path. There is no way of anticipating all the results before initiating a research, because unexpected results can happen during a project. Not only these uncertainties can happen, but they must be embraced as a pith part of the science itself. It is the possibility of finding the unexpected, the unknown that has moved the science for many years. In this context, it is very hard to estimate the number of people that would benefit from a scientific endeavour, since different results might be accomplished during the process.

In practical terms, it would be very difficult to implement such a restriction. How would it work? How the benefits would be measured? To illustrate my point, imagine that two research proposals are competing for public fundings and that the greatest number of people is one of the indicators used to choose what research is going to receive the funds. Then, one research has a potential of benefiting a greatest number of people in improving the quality of education. The other has a potential of benefiting a smaller number or people by finding the cure of a very rare disease. Would the number of beneficiaries be the final indicator? Additionally, as stated in the previous paragraph it is very hard to anticipate the number of people that are going to benefit from a research.

On the contrary, people arguing that Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people would probably argue that resources are limited and, thus, it is important to prioritize areas with greater impact. Although the argument is valid, it has an underlying assumption that same areas are more important than others, a historical trend of benefiting always more applied research. However, some areas has greater impacts in a more indirect levels, such as literature, art and social science in general.

Therefore, scientific research should not be restricted in any way. Actually, countries that are considered as successes in the scientific field are characterized by freedom in the research agenda, methods and content.