Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

While some people tend to think that scientists or other researchers should focus the area which can benefit the most people in the world, others seem to disagree with it. In my opinion, I believe that scientists and researchers have to study diverse area, and not just an area to benefit the greatest number of people.

To begin with, if nobody studies rare disease or some area which people do not understand, lots of people will have a poor life. To be specific, lots of people have rare disease and they hope scientists to discover the panacea. For example, AIDS is the terrified disease which still have no panacea to eradicate. Lots of people suffered from this disease. If no scientists focus on this issue, this disease will spread for a long time, and more people will get infected. Therefore, Studying the diverse area for scientists is important to benefit people.

The second point is that the object of discovering the new things is not always benefit to people. Lots of different subject need scientists to study. What's more? Discovering the new things is the primary for scientists since lots of problems have not be resolved. For instance, there are lots of garbage from human which polluting marine. Scientists have to study how to resolve this problem. If they just focus on their area, lots of different issues will not be resolved, and society will not advance. Thus, I think scientists should not just focus on one area.

True, some people might say that if scientists and scholars just focus on their research on one area that most people can be benefited, the government would save lots of money on dispensable objects. However, this belief fools to consider the fact that if scientists discover the new things or produce the new way to make the society advanced, the government will save more money than just focusing on one area. Thus, this is hard to convince people of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I think scientists and researchers have to study diverse area since rare disease is an important issue for people and we cannot ignore it, and discovering the new things is the purpose of science. There seems to be some validity to other points of view. However, I still believe that the reasons of my opinion are stronger.