To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

While some people tend to think that if people want to understand the characteristics of the certain society, they have to study their capital or other major cities, other seem to disagree with it. In my opinion, I believe that we do need to study the major cities if we wonder the most important characteristics of its society.

To begin with, studying from its major cities can let us understand lots of culture. To be specific, if we want to understand what is the most important characteristics of a society, its major cities have far more resource. For instance, my friend, Alex, who lived in United States. He came to Taiwan to visited me last year. Since he totally did not understand the culture or characteristics of Taiwan, I suggested him to stay at Taipei, the capital of Taiwan, first. He made lots of friends, and knew lots of culture from people who lived in Taipei. He understand that Taipei has lots of financial corporates, and which is the important city in Asia. Lots of cultural events are hold in Taipei, such as parade. Thus, I think if we want to understand the characteristics of society, we have to study or stay at the major city.

The second point is that lots of important department of government of country are located in major cities. That is to say, the major city usually is the first location benefit from government. For example, Tokyo is the major city of Japan. Lots of different galleries or sports competitions held in Tokyo. Apparently, it is the special characteristics of a society that only the major cities have. Therefore, studying from the major cities is important step for understanding the society.

True, some people might say that studying the major cities cannot help us to know the most important characteristics of a society because the major cities usually have lots of culture. Nevertheless, this belief fools to consider the fact that there are lots of characteristics in one country, we cannot assert which is the most important thing. If we study from its major cities, we can realize lots of different things or culture, and we can qualify the scale to know which can represent the city. Therefore, it is not convinced to people of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, studying the major cities of a country is the most important thing if we want to realize it society. There seems to be some validity to other points of view. However, I still believe that the reasons of my opinion are stronger.