The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

In this argument, the author claims that opening a cafe shop in the Monarch Books can has lots of benefits. The argument seems to be some validity at first glance, but we immediately found out several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments:

To begin with, the author says that opening the space can be made for the cafe shop by decreasing the children's book section which the census indicated that it will become less popular. However, we do not know what the sources of this census. What if the sample of this census just about twenty people? And what if the sample is did at others places? If the census' sample is not based on the people living in Monarch, the census would be not veracious. Therefore, the author need to answer these questions.

Furthermore, what if the policy of local schools change? It is possible that the school policy would influence the demand for the children's books. If children have to read more books or their parents want to increase their literacy skill before attend the school in the future, they need the children's section in the bookstore. Parents would not like to go to Monarch Books if the children's section are be removed.

Even if the census is true, it is not to say that people living in there would like to go to buy a cup of coffee. What if people living there do not like to drink coffee? For example, there was a coffee shop in my town last year. However, people living in my town do not like to drink coffee. The coffee shop eventually closed just through few weeks. The author have to answer this question to provide the evidence that people would attracted by coffee.

To sum up, the author would have to provide answers to respond those questions in detail to make valid assumption he provided. Without such answers, we cannot jump to the conclusion that opening the cafe shop has lots of benefits. All in all, if the author provides more answers and mends the logical mistakes, then the argument would be more persuasive.