The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author says that a jazz music club in Monroe would have lots of profits from local market and become a successful enterprise. The argument seems to be some validity at the first glance, but we immediately found out there are several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments.

To begin with, the author claims that since the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, the proposed new jazz club would have the local market all to itself. However, we need more information about the population of Monroe. What if most people of Monroe live in 65 miles away? We have no evidence about how many people living near the new jazz club, C-Note. Even though the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, we cannot assert that there would be lots of people to go to C-Note.

Even if there are lots of people who living near C-Note, that is not to say, people living there all like to listen to jazz music or go to jazz club. We still have no evidence to prove this conclusion. For example, there was a music club in my hometown before. However, lots of people living in my hometown do not like to go to the club. That music club eventually closed down. Thus, we need more evidence about this issue.

Moreover, the author says that Jazz is popular in Monroe since lots of people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and there are lots of famous jazz-musician live in Monroe. However, there are lots of logical mistakes here. What if the people who attended Monroe's festival last summer not living in Monroe? It is possible that people who attended the festival just like the jazz music, they would not stay at Monroe for a long time. That is to say, the new jazz club cannot be profitable anytime.

Even if there lots of well-known musicians live in Monroe, it is not to say the music club and be benefited from them. For instance, I like the singer who live in Taipei which place I born. However, I never go to the music club in Taipei, because I can just listen his songs with my laptop or cellphone. There is no evidence that the musicians are related to the local music club.

Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fans spend lots of money per year on jazz entertainment. Nevertheless, it is not to say that the jazz fans who living in Monroe are same as the world's jazz fans. It is possible that the jazz fans who living in Monroe spend less money on jazz entertainment.

To sum up, the author would need to provide more evidence to strengthen the argument. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that a jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise.