The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the statement mentioned above the Board of Directors of Monarch books recommend opening a café in the store. The reason for this recommendation is that through this way more customers are attracted to the store and they can better compete with their rivals such as Regal Books. Also, they believe that in place of the children ‘s book section in the current map, the cafe can be created. Their argument about opening a café is questionable because of the below reasons.

Firstly, the Board of Directors of Monarch book believe that for attracting more customer they should open a café. Have they had enough research about this subject? Are they sure that all customers like to use a café? Do they provide other important factors for attracting more customers? They have to consider that for the attraction of more customers in the book store, there are many important factors which should be considered first and creating a café is an additional service. For example, they should try to provide more local and international books, magazines and other important references in the bookshop for the attraction of more groups of people with different age profiles.

Secondly, their offer about replacing of café with children’s book section is wrong. They cite that “Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten.“ This census is just related to the one age group and even their no statistical evidence about that. Therefore, it cannot be enough reason for discontinuing the children’s book section. Also, by removing this section the book store will lose a large group of their customers because most of the time parents go to the bookshop for their children and sometimes, they buy something for themselves too. They should try to renovate the bookshop and add a special place for the café.

Finally, they also claim that “Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.” The question is whether the only positive point of Regal Books is having a café compared to Monarch. Do they have any evidence that opening a café in this bookshop has been a good idea? Do they have enough research about the effect of café on the attraction of customers or they just want to imitate their rival?

In conclusion, the Board of directors if wants to strengthen their idea about opening the café, they have to have more researches and try to find a better solution for the creation of enough space for the café.