The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the argument recommends that Monarch Books should provide a café in its store mainly because it can make contributions to attract more customers and to compete with Regal Book. However, the conclusion cannot be accepted mainly because it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that if Monarch Book opens a café, it may attract more customers. However, there is no concrete evidence that supports this assertion. Maybe individuals exclusively come to Monarch Books thanks to its various books provided for the people, mentioned earlier in the argument, and they may not be interested in a cafe. Moreover, it is highly likely that most of the customers almost feel no need to go to the book store since they could purchase their materials via the internet. Thus, the writer's presumption may not be true.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that Monarch Books should close the children section and replace it with a café, since the most recent national census declared that the number of children under age ten has diminished over the past few years, resulting in attracting more customers. However, it could be possible that a large share of its customers is parents intending to purchase the needs of their children, and simultaneously, buy their favorite books. Besides, the claim of the national census is too vague in that it does not represent what exactly happened to the population of the children in different places. Maybe this statistics are affected by the number of offspring in big cities, and Monarch Books is located in a small city. Therefore, the findings of such a national census are neither authentic nor valid.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that opening a café would help Monarch Books to compete better with Regal Books since the latter has opened its café, attracting more customers. Nevertheless, the writer fails to consider a subtle point. It means, Maybe Regal Books is in a neighborhood where dwellers were interested in cafes, but the number of such places was not enough. As a result people were encouraged to go to the café in Regal Books, resulting in a larger share of customers. Indeed, it is erroneous to conclude that this successful strategy will work for Monarch Books, too.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on some assumptions, each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.