Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although many people state that sharing information freely in different categories is absolutely beneficial, others believe that it is extremely perilous mainly because of some reasons, which with the benefit of hindsight, I agree with them.

The belief of the first party is to share the latest data with the rest of the world without any limitations and charges. In this context, it is worth noting that the latest information, such as those related to scientific findings, cutting edge devices and state-of-the-art technologies can be distributed between different nations all around the world and become pervasive. Also noteworthy is the fact that in this situation, those talented and genius individuals and companies, mostly in third-world countries, deprived of the latest achievements, cannot use this practical information in order to invent new gadgets in different scientific areas such as pharmaceutical companies and their productions. Thus, sharing the information freely is highly advantageous.

The second party contends that providing data without any restrictions would probably lead to national anarchy. It means, most leading organizations across the world have been working on their projects either in different sites or laboratories and also are investing prodigious amounts of money on them; propagating their findings could possibly result in bankruptcy and economic recession for these structures in the near future. Apart from that, it is feasible that sharing these vital pieces of information, especially those associated with weaponry, cause the third Word War as these achievements could be used by wrong people such as terrorists. Thereby, distributing this kind of information would not be practicable.

While both groups are right to some extent, I personally vote for not sharing novel information freely. We may probably destroy the competition between big companies such as Google, Microsoft, Pixar and those that are active in other important sections such as the oil and automobile industry, to name just a few. Imagine that Mercedes Benz would share its brand new gearbox with other rivals. That is to say, other organizations could possibly copy this prominent invention and left the inventor with no money at the end, so propagating unlimited information would be absolutely deleterious.

In conclusion, despite many pros of giving information to others without any charges, I strongly believe that it will have long-term repercussions including international chaos and stagnation, after all.