In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The writer of the issue is of the view that making a great breakthrough in any field of attempt is beyond the bounds of possibility unless one is influenced by previous achievements in that specific field. However, while making a remarkable success in some very rare occasions is feasible with the help of past achievements, I strongly believe that it is viable to make mesmerizing breakthroughs without first being influenced by past achievements.

It is certain that human beings have discovered many new topics without being strongly affected by previous breakthroughs. In this respect, we can think of some beneficial and significant inventions such as Electricity; it is worth noting that Thomas Edison was not affected by previous achievements in that interval. On top of that, there were many incomplete projects left mostly because they seemed impossible to become complete, but they would be done by those who were even discouraged by previous failures and disappointments. Hence, it is implausible to ascribe new achievements mainly to those affected by previous breakthroughs.

Furthermore, most individuals who have accomplished in their areas had brand-new ideas rather than just influencing by previous achievements. It means they act mainly in order to ameliorate either their society or their personal lives. In terms of Politics, for instance, take Abraham Lincoln as a vivid example who did his best in order to abolish slavery in an aggressive social environment which had never observed such a consequential movement before. Moreover, there are many pioneers who are doing their best to facilitate the daily life by means of novel technologies; production of an unprecedented social medium such as Facebook illustrates the point.

However, as it is mentioned in the introductory paragraph, there are some scarce occasions in which many people succeed in making great contributions with first being influenced by previous achievements. In this context, these people may be motivated or stimulated by observing past breakthroughs, doing their best to obtain better results. Instagram and Twitter, for example, are widely-used and successful media which are just promoted versions of Facebook, trying to increase their share of users.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that making significant contributions without being influenced by previous achievements is not impossible in any field. Not only were many explorations done by those who were not influenced by previous breakthroughs, but these individuals had also new ideas, leading to unprecedented accomplishments. If one limits herself to previous experiences in order to become successful, she would never virtually thrive in her life.