Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The writer of the issue states that headmen should be changed after five years in any field such as business, politics, education, and government since it is the most reliable way in order to become successful for any enterprise. In fact, I agree with neither the claim nor the reason as I found them both problematic.

First of all, changing the person who is on top is not beneficial in every field. It simply means there are some areas which seldom need these replacements mostly because regular substitution brings about staff’s confusion at lower level in that structure. In terms of sport, for instance, if the coach of a team will be changed after five years, the players probably cannot put up with the regular changes, so it is highly likely that they fail to show their highest potential. On top of that, if the person on top shows an acceptable performance, and they will be dismissed after a determined period, there would be almost no incentives for the rest of both probable future candidate to do their best as a leader.

Even if we assume that changing people in power is absolutely beneficial for each and every organization, it is specious to put a limitation of a five-year period mainly because this is a very restricted time in order to implement many policies. In this context, take the presidency as a vivid example; by and large, there are almost always many problems, especially at the end of the previous government, which should be tackled with the help of new people in power, so many of these problems cannot be resolve over the course of a five-year period. Thus, most presidents are recollecting for another equal period to overcome a myriad of hardships in either the society or the intergovernmental relationships. Besides, those effective leaders who are working efficiently should not be laid off; instead, they should be used for a much longer period in order to show their true potential.

As I already stated, I find the reason unconvincing too. In this respect, there is no guarantee that replacing the previous leader will lead to betterment in a company. It is possible that these changes bring deleterious ramifications and exacerbate the financial state of the structure, so it is erroneous to allege that these changes would always generate improvements. In addition, it is highly likely that changing the leader imposes a prodigious amount of money on establishments, engendering bankruptcy mainly as a result of higher salaries asked by new leaders. Indeed, changing the people in power is not the surest way to accomplish.