In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Although it is absolutely important to value our achievements, including printed documents, there is no doubt about the fact that paper books will probably become a thing of the past in the future. I personally agree with this statement and believe that this process is unpreventable mainly as a direct result of the cutting-edge technology, preservation of our planet, and the broadcasting speed of these gadgets.

Firstly, the inexorable march of new beneficial and modern technology will probably eliminate the usage of paper for propagating information in the near future. It is worth noting that high-tech devices with large memories can store and transfer thousands of millions of information in a few seconds, so it would be fruitful to use these tiny devices in order to obtain and have the latest data in different areas of specialization, including scientific discoveries, space explorations, medical and engineering practices. For example, one of the most vital and efficient gadgets widely being used by the public is the mobile phone; as a result of using it a user can have access to a large number of data without any troubles. Thereby reading printed newspapers would be like living with dinosaurs.

Apart from the previous point, the increase of carbon dioxide emission and clearing of trees are two concerning controversial issues which deter people from reading printed media in the coming years. It is noteworthy that most of the eminent and leading scientists have been working on projects in order to stabilize the increasing temperature of the Earth mainly as a consequence of cutting down trees and carbon dioxide emission emerging from the exhaust of factories, including paper and carton factories. Many environmental groups and governmental bodies have been doing their best to stop emitting carbon dioxide during the last decade. As a consequence, it is highly likely that nobody read paper books over the course of the next decades.

On the other hand, while some individuals state that books and printed newspapers are practical whenever the power is gone in different areas including megacities, these printed materials are not as fast as modern devices to inform the public. That is to say, the term Global Village has been established among different nations for the reason that people are able to hear the latest news in the blink of an eye about an event such as a human-error accident or natural disaster happening even in far-flung places by means of using social media including, Twitter, Instagram, Reddit, Telegram, to name just a few. Take the Covid19 pandemic as a clear example; the news about this mortal phenomenon was forecasted all over the world and people became aware of it immediately in 2019. A simple comparison with previous deadly illnesses sheds light on the effectiveness of online information propagation in our era.

In conclusion, it is agreed that high-tech devices will possibly be preferred over dated printed books and papers in the coming years mostly because they are more effective and rapid. Besides we should not forget that our planet is in dire need of protection against environmental issues such as greenhouse gases and global warming as well. If we make the switch, the next generations may enjoy a healthier Earth in the future.