Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The writer of the issue contends that it is essential that governments make sure that their main cities are provided with sufficient financial support in order to succeed since a nation’s cultural traditions basically are protected and formed in these places. However, I agree with neither the claim nor the reason mostly because I find them both problematic.

First of all, it seems to be a wrong policy to only concentrate on major cities in a country. It means that there are many small cities in a country playing pivotal roles in reviving the traditional cultures of countries mostly due to a series of significant chronological events happed there over the bygone eras. Take Kashan city in Iran as a clear example. Although Kashan is neither a metropolis nor the capital of my country, it is one of the most focal areas in Iran mostly because of its impressive monuments and local subculture, so it is a fallacious claim to emphasis only on major cities.

Even if we assume that enough financial support is given to major cities, I believe that there are some other all-important factors, such as good management in different parts of the government, which help these cities to thrive. In fact, many major cities all around the world are confronting with corruptions such as embezzlement of their governors, wasting a prodigious amount of budgetary money dedicated to them in order to be spent on both different cultural programs and preservation of their ancient monuments. Indeed, only making sure that enough money is given to major cities definitely may not guarantee their progresses.

As I already stated, I find the reason problematic too. Even if we now assume that major cities are receiving enough money in order to thrive, it is specious to say that it is only in major cities that a nation’s cultural tradition is initiated and protected. It means that we inherited our cultures from our ancestors who were living in either smaller cities than today’s metropolises or even far away villages, so it is not fundamentally correct to opine that cultural traditions are primarily generated in big urban areas. Besides, there are many small cities which are richer culturally than some big cities. Hamedan in Iran, for instance, is one of the main cities with rich history and unique traditions located in a small province. Thus, giving little credence to small cities in favor of major cities may endanger the safety of a nation’s culture.