The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the argument recommends that Acme Company should require its entire staff to participate in the Easy Read Speed-Reading course because many other organizations’ workforce improved their productivity via taking part in such a course. However, the conclusion cannot be accepted mainly because it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that one graduate of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course is able to read a 500-page report in only two hours mainly because she took part in this course. However, there is no concrete evidence that bolster this declaration. Maybe she practiced speed reading during bygone years, and she decided to engage in the course only in order to complete her previous practices. Besides, it is not mentioned in the argument whether the graduate is productive or not. Maybe she became an expert in speed reading, but she is virtually unproductive since these two abilities are generally irrelevant to each other. Indeed, the writer's presumption may not be true.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that another graduate get promotion mostly because he took part in Speed-Reading Course. Nevertheless, it is highly likely that he rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company as a result of showing good performance such as great manipulation of the workforce and superb problem solving during previous years in his job environment. Moreover, it is not mentioned in the argument whether the graduate showed improvement in his speed reading skill or not. Maybe he passed the course without any improvement in his skill, so it is fallacious to ascribe his promotion to Speed-Reading course.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that Acme Company would endure a small price of $500 per employee which is not really comparable to the benefits. Nonetheless, it is not stated that how many employees are in the company. Maybe there are 200 personnel, and the cost would impose a great pressure on the organization. On top of that, although there is a free three-week seminar in Spruce City, it is not mention how far the city is. Maybe the company is not in the vicinity of Spruce City, imposing a prodigious amount of money for transportation, Accommodation, and food on the company over the course of three weeks.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on some assumptions, each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.