The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of their employees to take the easy read course. this argument does not make any cogent case it is easy to understand why acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of their employees to take the easy read course. But, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support author's conclusion. I think there may be some other factors which may make author's claim to be invalid. hence, the author's argument is incomplete.

Initially, the author readily assumes that many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the easy read speed reading course has greatly improved productivity. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For e.g., it may possible that what works for other companies may not work for acme. moreover, author does not provide any evidence to support his statement that how easy read speed reading course has greatly improved productivity. Further, author does not mention any information about other companies’ improvement in productivity. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly states that how easy read speed reading course is responsible for improvement of productivity.

Further, the argument here readily states that one graduate of easy read speed reading course was able to read a 500 page in only two hours. Additionally, the author states that another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under the year. Further, the author's underlying assumption is that the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. this is again weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between one graduate of easy read speed reading course was able to read a 500 page in only two hours and another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under the year. Moreover, it may possible that one graduate of easy read speed reading course, who was able to read a 500 page in only two hours is only because in book more than 300 pages include only figures which does not require any reading. if the argument had offer more evidence that what type of book person is reading and what is a correlation between one graduate of easy read speed reading course was able to read a 500 page in only two hours and another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under the year. Then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Additionally, the author here states that easy read would cost acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the easy read newsletter and based on this author concludes that acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the easy read course, However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for author's conclusion. For e.g., it may possible that for some employees $500 is a huge amount and due to their weak financial status they can’t afford this kind of courses. Moreover, author does not provide any evidence about how acme would benefit greatly if all of their employees take the easy read course. without convincing evidence the reader is left with the impression that claims made by author are more of a wishful thinking rather that substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive. Additionally, by considering the discussion above it can be seen that reason mentioned by the author are not enough to support his suggestion. The argument loses weight because it has no explanation for the discussion given above.