Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

While some people tend to think that understanding the past is not useful for people who lead the team or who work in current positions, others seem to disagree with it. However, in my opinion, I believe that understanding the past can benefit people.

To begin with, if we understand the past, we can know what ways that we have to prevent it. To be specific, we can prevent to use the same way like precursor that we can avoid the same mistake. For example, I am a leader in my college project before. At the beginning, I suggested the teammates that we should search the prior research first so that we would not make the same mistake. After we gained lots of information on the past resaerch, we know what we had to do, and we finished the project successfully. Eventually we got the great score. Thus, I think that understanding the past can benefit us.

The second point is that understanding the past can let people be more convinced to their leader. That is to say, people will be more convinced if their leader can understand what the company suffered before. For instance, if a leader can speak lots of past mistakes that company had during the meeting, his or her employee will be more convinced because they will understand they should not make the same mistakes like before, and they will realize that their leader is astute person. Therefore, I think understanding the past has benefit.

True, some people might say that whatever we understood much more the past, which cannot be useful to people due to the different situation. We cannot use the same way to deal with the diverse problem. However, this belief fools to consider the fact that understanding the fact is not let us to use the same way to deal with the problem, it can let us know what the mistakes we had, and we can prevent that we do the twice. Thus, it is hard to convince people of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons above, I think that understanding the past can truly benefit people in current positions od leadership. There seems to be some validity to other points of view. However, I still believe that the reasons of my opinion are stronger.