The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument from a large group of hospitals. The author states that the new hand soaps from UltraClean can prevent more infections than other hand soaps. However, this argument rests on many unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the memo states that this new hand soaps produced a 40 percent reduction in harmful bacteria than did the soaps used now in hospitals. However, a supposition here is that every bacteria is the same type. What if the bacteria is not the same type? Bacteria have lots of different type that we cannot assert this soap can eliminate every bacteria. It is possible that this test only test the certain bacteria. Thus, this experiment cannot convince people to believe it. We need more information or other tests for different bacteria.

Moreover, the memos says that the one hospital used the new hand soaps had fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals recently. However, we need more information about this report. What if the new bacteria appear in the future? We cannot assert that this new soap can defeat the new type of bacteria. For example, when Ebolavirus appeared at the beginning, we have no solution to defeat it. It is highly possible that this soap do not has huge affection to those new bacteria.

Even if the patient infections are decrease, it is not to say that the decrease is because of the new soap. What if the decrease is due to the other facts? For instance, if the patients is lower than before, it is possible that the infection is lower, or if the patients had the vaccination, they can have stronger immune system than before. Using the new soap is not the only reason for the decrease of infection.

To sum up, the author would need to provide more evidence in detail to make valid of the assumptions he addressed.