Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Although this reasoning cannot serve as a justification, it is a sad truth that scandals are useful for focusing governments and society attention on specific problems. In fact, scandals help promoting topics on the political and societal agenda. This argument might hold true in several areas, such as environmental scandals, political scandals and human rights scandals. However, speakers and reformers can also play this role and the two views are not opposite one, but complementaries.

In the environmental field, scandals such as the recent Amazon fires had as a result the prominence of the topic in every international newspaper and in every country. This case is particularly interesting because the Amazon deforestation has been a problem for several decades. Even if it is true that many public policies and non-profit interventions had addressed this problem and diminished it impacts, this was still an issue. Nonetheless, it was only after the problem reach huge dimensions that the international and political attention was given to it. In other words, now there is an opportunity to pass bills and work in a more structural way in order to find a better solution for this issue,

In the political realm, scandals can also have as, a positive externality, the fact of shedding light in particular questions that were not given much attention. An interesting illustration of that, can be made from the very famous Watergate scandal. The result was that Nixon renounce the presidency. The episode was useful for focusing attention in illegal staple and it effects on the democratic process. It was also important for elevating the moral standards expected from a politician.

Regarding the human rights and corporations area, there are several scandals that helped raising some questions. A very popular case was the accusation of slave work within the Zara Industry. After the scandal revelation, the company was obliged to change a lot of policy and procedures, but, also, the fiscalization among other similar brands was increased. Another example is the disaster of Mariana and Brumadinho caused by mining companies in Brazil. The very tragic episode put in the agenda discussions about corporate responsibility and more sustainable alternatives.

The examples given show that scandals might be an opportunity for raising attention in a specific topic. However, this cannot be opposed to the very important role that speakers and reformers have. This two alternatives are not mutually exclusive. Actually, reformers and speakers have an important role of avoiding scandals.