The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The indicator that is used to measure the overall success of a nation matters. It matters because it emphasize what are the important things for a society and, therefore, where the governments should be spending more time and funding. In this context, the argument provided offers to alternative views: whether the surest indicator is represented by the achievements of its rulers, artist and scientist or by the general welfare of its people. In this dichotomous view, I argue that the general welfare and well-being of each person is a far better indicator of a nation.

For a long time Gross Domestic Product (GDP) has been the most popular indicator to represent the general success of a nation. However, GDP does not say anything about the quality of life, how the products are made, what are the environmental impacts, how is the wealth distributed, among other aspects. In recent years, several countries, such as Scotland, New Zealand and Iceland, have starting to work with different indicators, especially those who focus on well-being. In other words, a great nation is not one that has a huge GDP, but one that can focus on the well-being and happiness of their citizens. Focusing on the well-being, rather than in the achievements of its rulers, artist or scientist is extremely important for two reasons. The first reason is that it is important to fight inequalities and guarantee that the general minimum welfare is fair for everybody. The second, is that greatness in art, politics and science will follow as a result of a society in which well-being is put in first place.

In relation with the first reason, it is important to assert that it is totally possible to have a society with great artists and scientist, but where art and science cannot be afforded or appreciated by the majority of the population. In fact, the greatness of rulers, artist and scientist does not guarantee a great society as a whole. It could only be the prove of a very unequal society. In this context, as stated in the first paragraph, the chosen indicator matters because it is a thermometer of where governments should be spending the resources and where the attention should be addressed. If the achievements of rulers, artists and scientist were to be selected as the most important indicator, automatically more funding would be released for this areas. However, if science and arts are not dedicated to improve the societies, they will be just an elitist pleasure.

In regards with the second reason, an important argument that can be made is that in a society in which well-being and welfare are put as the surest indicator, science and arts will follow. In fact, historically is really rare to find societies with good welfare indicators without artistic movements or scientific experiments being ruled. It would be very simplistic to say that is an automatic process, but the mechanism is actually very simple: societies with greater welfare have better education, thus, having better universities in order to do research and better conditions for developing artistic movements.

To sum up, the indicator used to measure the greatness of a society is important because it emphasizes the agenda and the resource allocation. Choosing the rulers, artists and scientists as the focus means to increase the social gap between these individuals and the rest of the society. Conversely, investing in the general well-being first yields to improvements in science an arts as well.