The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

There is a long-lasting common discussion about whether the greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries or only by those who live after them. In this essay, I claim that contemporaries can decide whether someone was great or not for three reasons. First, greatness is about average people doing great things and about heroism. Second, what should be decided is whether an action was great or not and not the whole individual. Last, those living after may introduce anachronism in their judgments, changing the actions meaning.

In this debate, the first point we need to address is what does greatness means: is it something related with heroism or it can be achieve by average people? The meaning attributed to the word is important to decide what point of view makes more sense. In other words, I believe that if we understand greatness as heroism and huge achievements the post-mortem assessment is more germane. However, if we understand greatness as ordinary people improving their communities, finding and solving problems, helping vulnerable people and enhancing a better world, it is more appropriate to believe that their accomplishments can be evaluated by their peers. In this essay, I argue that greatness can and should be pursue by average people. And, therefore, individuals behavior and attitudes can be evaluated by their contemporaries.

The second aspect that we might discuss is why contemporaries can decide whether an individual is great or not. In this point, I claim that individuals greatness is not inherent to their nature, but it is related with their actions, attitudes and behavior. In addition, an individual greatness, if truly great, can be seen in concrete actions with concrete impacts and results. What I am saying is that we don’t need to wait the death of an individual to attribute a symbol of greatness, because we don’t care about the personal issues of that individual. It is important to assess their actions and the consequences those actions can achieve. For instance, let’s imagine an individual who helped the whole community by doing a project against poverty. For the argument sake, let’s say the poverty indicators, after the project, improved and the quality of life in that community was substantially increased. Now, let’s imagine that, after doing this magnificent project, the individual was involved in some personal scandals, such as having an affair. Should this fact change the assessment of the project he conceived? I argue that no. And, additionally, I believe that this is a perfect example of why we should assess people’s actions and not individuals itself.

Lastly, another point to be made is that greatness would always be a subjective indicator. What is great for some people might not be great for another group. Having the subjectivity in mind, the claim that only those who live after an individual can decide about their greatness is flawed. This is because the argument assumes that people coming after would have a better ability or perspective to evaluate somebody’s greatness. Conversely, I believe that people are always going to evaluate in a subjective way, putting their contexts, experiences and values in the evaluation process. Therefore, people living after may include some anachronism during the evaluation.

To sum up, I argue that greatness is not related to heroism, but it can be achieved by average individuals. In addition, I continue the argument by claiming that individual greatness is a result of actions and not of personal traits. In this sense, it is impossible to assess an individual greatness for his or her personal traits, because people are extremely complex. Nobody is perfect. Nevertheless, it is totally possible to evaluate the actions and the practical results of the actions taken and this can be done either by their contemporaries or by those who live after.