the greatness of an individual can be decided only by those whose live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Greatness of a person is a characteristic which can not be determined by a few people who live or stay around him or her.In my view, i somewhat disagree with the given statement.For a person to be called great,it requires many characteristics to be fulfilled which can not be determined by the person living after him or her.The greatness depend on the overall characteristics and behaviour of the person which requires an external influence.

It also needs to compared by their contemporaries,that actually will show how effective and great an individual is.The people living besides an individual would be the people who are the relatives or the well wisher of an individual,so anyways they are going to say good things about that individual and this thing is not going to decide the greatness of an individual.The greatness of an individual can be determined once they come in real world ,far from there well wishers, and dealing with the people around them. That actually shows how capable and great a person or an individual is.

Secondly in a two faced or a double dealing world,greatness of people cannot only be determined by few persons alone.one cannot say that how an individual is because he might be good to some of the persons and among some persons he might be an evil.An example of that is :a child would always consider his or her parents great and would like to follow them but the child does not know how his or her parents are performing in the real world.

Thirdly comparison should be made between the contemporaries which will show how well the person is and if he lacking behind that person,attempt to improve can also be made by an individual.So greatness of person can also be measured from that view point.It is actually a good measure as it motivates an individual.

Thus,greatness of a person according to my view point is an overall assessment of the person which not only can be determined by the person living by their side but also the external influence of the person by comparing with their contemporaries.