universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Education and knowledge never has a limit and whatsoever gained whenever and where ever should be acquired as it's always beneficial for an individual.From my point of view,i do agree with the given statement that universities should require every student to take a wide range of courses which are outside the student's field of study.That definitely will help the child to have knowledge not only in one particular field but a wide range of fields.

Such system of university would also be helpful for the child who is confused which field to select,what to study and what not to study.Apart from this ,the child who has interest in one or more fields can also pursue his studies and knowledge in more than one field.So basically from this system, i foresee that the hesitation of the child in selecting the field would somewhat be eliminated.

In today's world where diversity is a must;it would also be helpful for the child to get a good and respectable job if he a diverse knowledge of various fields, once he completes his or her studies.For example a civil engineer having a knowledge of subjects related to computer engineering would be helpful to him or her as nowadays use of computer related softwares in making plans of the buildings are much into existence.Also it would be beneficial for the person who employs such a civil engineer having knowledge in both fields as he won't have to employ another person for that purpose and as there would be considerable saving in cost for that person.

However,studying subjects and acquiring knowledge in the subjects other than the student's field of study would quiet be burdensome for the child as they will have to study a lot.Even parents would have some burden regarding the fees as it would be considerably high than that of child studying one particular field.Also university should take care while applying such method of study,the student should not be left dilettante and should have considerable knowledge in one particular field.

Conclusively,from my viewpoint i would say that universities must require every student to take variety of courses they like and wish to pursue apart from their particular field of study and for the overall betterment of the child.