Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

I believe that the colleges or universities should require students to participate other field classes in the first year, but not necessarily force them after that.

Studying across different field could be advantageous, since they apparently not only benefit expanding knowledge, but also consider another possibility for changing field. By taking other field classes, students are able to learn various concepts or skill in different ways and learning beyond major subject sometimes help a lot to solve the problem that pupils encounter in their field. For example, building architecture usually reply on intricate mathematical calculation and physical evaluation. Besides, medicine development counts on not only biology but also chemistry. Therefore, knowledge is borderless nowadays and they are interdependent. Moreover, some students do not exactly make their mind to choose major subject because they rush to make decision before universities without adequate understanding. By letting pupils contact with other fields, the school provides the possibilities for students to explore more subjects that they don’t know and maybe they’ll find what really interests them. For instance, In Taiwan, there are 3 to 5 percent of students changing their major after the first year in the college because they find more intriguing subjects. And It’s school’s responsibility to help students grow their talent or ability development.

Opponents may argues that not every school is affordable to provide diverse courses for those students to attend. They needs to recruit more teachers and buy more equipment and it cost lots of money. Besides, only minor group of students would change their major to others, the school is not worth to invest. Under such circumstance, If the schools want to provide various courses and force students to participate, then it wouldn’t be pragmatic. However, I believe that academies would not necessarily expand their departments or increasing faculties due to the policy, the could easily achieve simply by freeing the accessibility for students to choose classes in other colleges when they’re the first year in the universities. For example, say a small-scale engineering school which obviously does not have the ability to offer literal class for students could coordinate with other literal schools. Some academies could collaborate together so that pupils could select comprehensive classes from these schools. For instance, in Taiwan, there is a system composed of three universities and the freshmen could freely choose courses. By coalition of schools, it saves a great deal of money.

Additionally, students tend to start paying attention to their major or others related to that when they’re not no longer freshmen in the college. Because courses’ complexity is higher and more difficult starting from second year, the school should not set a mandatory criteria for them to participate irrelevant class, but holding a liberal attitude toward it. In other words, pupils could either attend interesting classes or fully focus the major subject. By providing the flexibility, the school would achieve more than diverse academic development.

In conclusion, A compromising decision is suggested for the colleges to be done as a mandatory requirement for students to attend other field course only in the first year to benefit knowledge breadth and major changing possibilities. Meanwhile, schools are unnecessary to pay extra money by coalition.