The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although the argument provided by the business manager of Happy Pancake House might seem logical at first glance, it is based on assumptions that might not hold true. First, he provides no evidence of whether the number of complaints is reliable. Second, and related with the first question, the manager is assuming that not explicitly complaining means that customers have not noted the difference. Lastly, he asserts that avoiding the expense of purchasing butter yields to higher levels of profitability. In this context, more questions need to be answered in order to decide whether the managers suppositions are true.

Related with the first stated point, the manager asserts that only about 2 percent of the customers have complained. He continues the argument by saying that this number means that 98 percent are happy with the change. However, there are some answers that need to be addressed in this topic. How where this number collected? There was a policy instructing waiters to report complaints? How can they be sure that only 2 percent have complained? In addition, it is misleading to assume that people that have not complained are happy with the change. They might be unhappy, indifferent or happy. In other words, the manager cannot sustain the argument that people that have not express an opinion about the change are happy about the change.

Second, and in line with the previous aspect, in his argument the manager is assuming, once again, that people that have not complain cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term in an interchangeable way. However, this a strong assumption based in no evidence, but in a mere opinion. Conversely, people might have notice the difference but they don’t feel the need to share it with the waiter or with the restaurant administration. At this point, in order to support the position, the manager could make some experiments, such as questioning the customer whether he prefers margarine or butter. Another possibility is to bring a little margarine and a little butter and test which one is more used. Putting it in another way, the manager needs to answer whether people can or cannot distinguish margarine from butter using other tools that are not just if people are complaining or not.

Last but not least, if the aim of the action is to increase profitability, the manager needs to make more in-depth calculations. He is assuming that cutting butter will automatically yield to an increase in profit, but this might not hold true. If his first arguments are fallacious, then the ingredient change might have as a consequence a decrease in the customer numbers, leading to a decrease in revenues and, ultimately, to a decrease in profitability.

Therefore, before extending this cost-saving changes to all his restaurants, the manager need to answer more questions and be sure that his assumption are true. Otherwise, he could be making a wrong decision, losing clients and revenues.