The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

In the above argument it is assumed that replacing butter with margarine will increase the profit of the happy pancake restaurant if it is extended to all its branch which is in the southeast and northeast.Further the assumption is supported by the statement that only 2 out of 100 complained through the server for the change of butter over margarine and also the customer were not able to decide the difference between butter and margarine.But the above argument is not exhaustive,in order to validate that assumption the argument must be able to answer these three questions.

What if the many people who were having the complain over the replacement of butter with margarine did not complain through the server.They were not happy with the replacement.It has not been mentioned in the argument that all people who bought the butter and given margarine responded through the server but it has only mentioned 2% only were not satisfied but of how many people.

What if replacing butter with margarine in other branch of the happy pancake restaurant is not accepted by the regular customers.How it would be possible to generate the great profit if the regular customer are not willing to accept it,There is no mention in the argument that how customer of the other branch will respond because every areas have liking for certain type of flavor,

What if in spite of asking for butter the customer are given margarine and they find it cheating.There is mention in the argument that customer who asked for butter were given margarine and they did not react anything which means they might be unknown but not every customer is that kind,some may find it cheating.

So,the above argument is not that strong.In order to develop strong argument the business manager of the happy pancake house restaurant must do the exhaustive research and must be able to answer the above kind of questions with full clarity.