The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

With the information provided, the assumptions leading to the conclusion drawn in this memorandum remain unconvincing. The business manager claims that Happy Pancake House restaurants in the southwestern United states changed butter into margarine in their cook. he believes the report about overall 2 percent of complaints and a number of complaints in special case that they provide customer requiring butter with margarine logically supports the satisfaction of customers about recent replacement, from butter to margarine. The evidences and assumptions the memo rests on, However, is too scanty to prove the conclusion.

first of all, even conceding only 2 percent of complaints, it cannot be directly connected to 98 percent of satisfaction from customers. we can discuss alternative explanations to rebut the evidence. The business manager says the change occurs recently, so the complaints are also not too long ago. In other words, a number of complaints in the future lie dormant. it cannot be certain that customers do complain right after feeling unsavory from margarine, so they need enough time to think the change in the restaurant and raise their complaints. if so, the probability to increase the percentage of complaints is pretty high in the long run.

Secondly, the expressions of the number descripted in the memo is so vague. The business manager write down his report that "many servers" say that "a number of" customers who ask for butter do not complain when served margarine instead. The murky description about the number like this, obviously, cannot be the adequate evidence. Except for this, he doesn't provide any information about this special situation. "A number of" customers several servers reported can be included in respectively different proportion as the specific number like 10 people or 100 people. if only few people complain as the business manager assumes, it is not qualitative index to evaluate the customer's satisfaction. The number does not commensurate the degree of each customer's dissatisfaction.

Finally, it is implausible to affirm that the customers do not feel the distinction between butter and margarine or they think the word "butter" means either butter or margarine. As I mentioned, the situation in the memorandum is unordinary, because the servers belie customers margarine by naming it butter. In this case, the customer can be easily confused to margarine. Another possibility may be explained that customers may think it is just the server's mistakes so they just decide to acquiesce for the server. Without eliminating these possibilities, the argument is still controversial.

To sum, the argument in the memorandum is rife with holes. To evaluate it better, we need more specific information discussed above. first, the total complaints in the long term, at least 3 months are required. Second, the precise and specific figures of customers and servers are needed for the calculation of rate. Lastly, we need to know whether other possibility of customers' behavior to confuse butter and margarine can be excluded or not.