Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have

previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village

of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean

people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket

in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River

is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only

by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-

called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

After the recent discovery of Palean baskets in Lithos, the author makes the conclusion that the Palean baskets were not only made by Palean in the ancient Palea. The discovery in Lithos turns out that the fact about Palean basket style known as a unique thing should be modified, because there had been no transportation from Palea to Lithos except for Brim River people in ancient times could not cross. This argument, however, rests upon somewhat scanty inferences, so the argument could be contradicted by some specific evidence.

To begin with, The primary assumption underlying the author's conclusion is that the author believes such a "Palean" basket archaeologists discovered exactly falls into line with the Palean thing. This kind of assumption needs the specific evidence that there are many Palean baskets, not only one in Lithos. If it is the only one in Lithos, the conclusion would be more easily challenged by even minor evidence like the difference of some patterns, a vestige of different techniques added on it, and so on. Even a few differences which can be found in the small part of basket in Lithos compared to the Palean basket can be a strong proof that the argument cannot confirm yet, therefore, the author needs to discuss about the number of Palean woven basket in Lithos and the sameness between Palean basket in Palea and in Lithos including ingridients and pattern.

The assumptions about the exchange between the two ancient villages are rife with holes, so it is insufficient to right draw the conclusion. The author presumes that there was no exchange at all between Palea and Lithos due to the difficulty in crossing the Brim River, and it would be buttressed by the evidence that no Palean boats have been found. But the argument might remain cogent, only if archaeologists may hardly discover additional evidence like Lithos' boats in the Brim River, another ways to access Lithos from Palea such as land route, bridge. Archaeologitsts might find even one specific evidence for verifying the exchange between two prehistoric villages, then in no sense it can be said that Palean baskets style is common.

In a similar vein, we can't exclude the possibility that the exchange between two villages after ancient times. It means the Palean basket discovered in Lithos could be imported from Palea after ancient or could be made by the next generations who knew the imported techniques of making woven baskets popular in Palea before few centuries. We can imagine archaeologists can find some inventories of the import in Middle Age or try to use carbon dating down the road. Then, some inventories of the import can aggravate the argument because the Palean basket in Lithos were imported later times, or else carbon dating which determines the age of Palean basket in Lithos is after the ancient times would turn out that some people who lived in Lithos in middle age made the Palean basket with the techniques transferred from Palea.

With above pieces of evidence, the author's argument is not sufficient to make a cogent case. It is needed that the evidence that such a Palean basket in Lithos is completely same with woven baskets in Palea and there is no transportation between two villages until now in order to substantiate the author's argument.