The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glimpse, the argument seems to be plausible. However, a closer scrutiny of the evidences reveals that, a lot of significant queries yet to be responded to consider the argument valid and irrefutable. In this assertion, the author concludes that, in order to avoid the expense of the purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should use margarine instead of butter. To substantiate the conclusion, the author cites several evidences like, customers cannot differ the difference between the butter and the margarine, they don’t complain and so on. Before the argument can be properly examined, three assumptions must be evaluated.

Firstly, the actual number of the customers who filed the complaint and the total number of customers should be provided. Is the 98 percent of the customers who didn’t file complaint significantly resemble the whole population? The author hasn’t provided any additional information with the percentage. It may be possible that, the number of customer who had taken the margarine was very high, and thus the number of complaints that had been filed it is significantly larger. Perhaps, almost ten thousand or more people had taken the margarine to eat, and so two percent of ten thousand is not a negligible number of complaints. If the above scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the behavior and satisfaction level of the customers should be properly investigated. Were the customers truly didn’t differentiate between the butter and margarine, or they simply didn’t file any complaint just because they were unwilling to go for any discord. It may be possible that, the customers realized the difference between the butter and the margarine. Nevertheless, they didn’t file any complaint just because, they didn’t want to dispute with the restaurant. Perhaps, they had decided not to come further in the restaurant and they had found an alternative restaurant. If the above assumption is true, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Last but not least, the author should provide the reason relying which he had come to a decision about the whole country based on the assumptions of the assumptions made in Southwestern United States. Is the people and environment of Southwestern United States resembles the whole country? It may be possible that, the people of the Southwestern part are less intelligent than other states. Perhaps they truly cannot differentiate among the butter and margarine. Nonetheless, it doesn’t mean that the other states of United States will not differentiate among these two. Therefore, if the above assumption is true, the argument is totally flawed.

Therefore, the argument can be considered as untenable, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unstated assumptions. To further fortifying the argument the author should answer the above three questions and provide the evidences as follows: he should provide the actual number of the customer and the complaints. Moreover, he also should provide the behavior and satisfaction level of the customers. Furthermore, he must provide the assumptions based on which he can draw a conclusion about the whole country. By starting these evidences and unstated assumptions, the argument can be considered as tenable and irrefutable.