Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic brings into light a controversial issue of whether educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them or not. Indisputably, students are the main persons for whom curriculum had been created, so student’s opinion is important in some cases. Nevertheless, educators are the most experienced person and they know all pros and cons about the curriculum and courses. While some may argue that, they fully agree with the statement, I personally mostly disagree with the statement. In my essay, I will elucidate congruous reasoning to support my claims.

First of all, education is the most important thing for the prosperity of any society. Alan Boom rightly said, “Education is the movement from darkness to light”. So proper curriculum is very much important in the education. Educators are the most experienced person. They know everything about the advantages, disadvantages about curriculum. While, students are like newborn child in this stage. So, in creating proper curriculum everyone should rely on the educators rather than students. Their proper judgment and intelligence can make a good and great curriculum, which can make a student to compete with the other students in the world. For example, if a student give their opinion regarding the curriculum, they may not be able to judge the courses basis on importance, so their opinion would not be effective. This example illustrates that, educators should make the curriculum rather than relying on the students.

Moreover, most of the time students try to neglect those courses, which seems seemingly tough and complex to them. In that case, many complex but important course can be neglected by them to add in the curriculum if they become able to interfere with the educators. For example, let us consider a course of our Statistics department. Many students find calculus very tough in our department. So if the students get the chance to alter the curriculum, most of the students will try to avoid the Calculus course. And it will cause a great disaster for the students of Statistics department. Since though calculus is a bit complex course, but it is a very important course in Statistics. So avoiding calculus course will not make a good effect for the students. The above example explains that, students sometimes are not aware of the importance of the courses, so they should not be given the chance to interfere in altering the curriculum.

However, the general saying goes, “every coin has two sides”. My position regarding this issue also has its own pros and cons. It is incontrovertible that, students know the exact condition of them. So sometimes they can suggest about their need, if they feel something is very much needed for their betterment. Nevertheless, educators should take their suggestion not as evitable. They should make proper judgment of the student’s suggestions and think about how the students can be benefited. For example, students can give suggestion about any additional courses which has recently been started in other country and the students of that country found it effective. The educators can take the student’s suggestion and properly evaluate the pros and cons of the suggestion. So that, the curriculum can be better and useful for everyone.

In a nutshell, by using the above mentioned substantiation, we can clearly say that, educators should not rely on the students opinions fully. However, they can take suggestions from the students. Then they can evaluate the suggestions and take proper action to make the curriculum better and helpful for the students.