Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

School nowadays is becoming more and more complex, both for students and for teachers or educators. On one hand, there is an overall lack of discipline, enhanced by busy parents’ laissez-faire, which leads to students’ dispassion for study. On the other we try to fit in the school syllabus new subjects, concepts and abilities, causing a “notion bombing” towards students, who are no more able to deal with these cumbersome activities.

Personally, I find myself in partial disagreement with the proposed prompt, which claims school and educators should just be subdued to the students’ preferences. There are obviously some nuances worth to analyze in order to have a complete view of the situation. I believe that introducing compulsory activities and subjects in the curriculum at the first education stages would be a wise choice, granting students a safe and solid preparation for their future plans. For example, how could one study, say, IT or programming if he does not know the binary code? Or how would one be able to write a successful novel if he or she did not learnt the grammar basics? Sometimes students are projected towards grandiose goals, but they are not aware of the ground tools and competences they will need to achieve them. This is the reason why I believe educators should provide them with guidance, in order to guarantee them they will not find themselves lacking resources and knowledge.

However, I do not think that personal inclinations should be completely ignored by the ones responsible for the growth and thriving of future workers and leaders. In fact, everyone is keener on one subject than another and this fondness should be encouraged. Students should be allowed to personalize their curriculum, adding activities or subjects that capture their curiosity since they are young. This way, those who would like to pursue a career in the humanities will be allowed to spend more time on what they really cherish, but they will not be missing the opportunity to have a general strong education. Likewise, that guy extremely passionate in earth science will be given the chance to delving deeper in that subjects with experiments and advanced classes.

Students, especially when younger, are not completely responsible of their choices and there could be the risk they waste their time and effort on topics they will not like anymore in the future, missing all other important information and knowledge school could provide. What they need is a gentle guidance towards building an established background in order to be able to pursue what they enjoy the most while in college and university. I have seen many brilliant minds which were not successful in comprehensive or high school, but then, thanks to notions learnt there, they became able to shine and emerge among other students at university. They probably struggled during those years, but I am quite sure they are grateful now, because they have been granted a secure educational background. And I think this is the key to find the right balance between a compulsory and an elective curriculum.