The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

One of the main challenges of our modern society consists in being able to educate and prepare young generations to future leadership roles, which should be virtuous and exemplar, in order to help the society itself to thrive and flourish. Several actors are involved in this task: from schools to institutions, from teachers to families, everyone plays a role in determining how our future leaders will be shaped. However, which is the best strategy to achieve an effective and equitable leadership in the diverse sectors of society? The presented claim gives a clue about the answer.

Personally, I agree about the necessity of teaching young generations the development of cooperation more than the one of competition. The word "leader" itself bears a complex meaning, which overcomes the simple concept of "ruling": a leader should be able to inspire people, helping them to reach their full potential and to express their very peculiar qualities, which obviously vary from person to person. Therefore, being able to cooperate, making out of each personal ability a resource is the most important characteristic a leader should master. A complex society such is the contemporary one needs articulate solutions to intricate problems and a single man or woman is not able to figure them out by him or herself only. For example, to run a business effectively today it will be needed an economist, a marketer, a communicator, a designer, HR personnel and many other figures who are required to cooperate in order to reach a shared goal.

Moreover, if youngsters are taught the value of cooperation, I believe that many of the struggles afflicting nowadays minorities will be be surpassed. Consider, for instance, the empowerment of women: only overcoming prejudice and sexual discrimination, future leaders will be able to make advantage of an important contribution such as the one of women. An analogous discourse could be carried out for other minorities, too many times left unheard or neglected, fact that led to neglect important voices and minds which could have been useful. If people are given the opportunity to share their knowledge in a safe, enhancing environment, I am sure we will be able to find solutions also to problems at the moment incomprehensible for us. But to do this, we must embrace cooperation in diversity.

Given this is my position, I acknowledge nonetheless the importance of a healthy and structured competition. In fact, it in undeniable that instilling a sense of competition at some point in life could help people - workers or students - to find the right motivation to strive for their best. Especially at school, I believe that sometimes competition can be a useful trigger to make the laziest students become dedicate, because almost everybody enjoy winning or at least trying to. However, such kind of competition should be strictly ruled and instrumental only to motivate people; when competition becomes a way to weaken each other's potential or when, in order to win, deceit and misbehavior are used, then it represents a harmful waste of time.

To conclude, the primary objective of nowadays' society is to empower its individuals and not to divide them. To do so, cooperation is undoubtedly the best way to achieve the result and to ascribe it to an orchestrated effort, not to the merit of only one puissant individual. It is vital teaching younger generations the value of diversity and guiding them towards an effective management and integration of it, exploiting every bit of originality to elaborate new solutions and answers.