The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The presented memo claims that Super Screen movies have suffered from a decline in viewers over the past year. The advertising director attempts to fix the problem by proposing to invest an additional amount of budget on advertising campaigns, because he thinks the flaws of the past years can be overcome by more capillary advertisement, in order to reach a greater percentage of the public. The memo sounds wise and reasonable, however it fails to answer some questions which would help clarifying the effectiveness of the advertising director's measure.

Firstly, it is not stated neither the reason why fewer people attended Super Screen productions last year, nor if a survey in this sense has been carried out. Moreover, it is not clear whether people did not attend specifically Super Screen movies or did not go to the cinema in general. In fact, there could be several reason to explain this phenomenon. Did they think about the huge impact of new streaming platforms and services? They are registering an increasing number of subscriptions and this could have led to a drop in cinemas attendance, with a consequential damage also for Super Screen productions. On the other hand, if the drop has been registered only for Super Screen movies, did they carry out an analytical comparison between their products and the ones of their competitors? Perhaps competitors managed to better understand the audience's tastes and desires.

Additionally, the nature and kind of the "positive reviews" is not specified at all. Are they coming from experts and critics or are they a faithful expression of the public's preferences? It is not taken into account that a positive review by critics may not coincide with an enthusiastic welcoming by audience. Therefore, a more thorough description of such reviews and a detailed account of where they have appeared would be useful to evaluate the actual impact they could have had. They could have appeared on sectorial journals and this would prove the director's memo right in that they should put effort towards reaching a greater share of the prospective public. On the contrary, if reviews are already available to the majority of the public, there would be no point in trying to expand their availability.

Finally, the advertising director writes only about allocating a greater share of the budget to advertising, reducing everything to a matter of money and investment. What about rethinking instead the present campaign? Advertisements could have been misplaced, or perhaps they are addressed to a part of the audience which is already aware of the quality of Super Screen productions. Increased funds may not be necessary if a re-targeting of advertising objectives is accurately carried out. Perhaps Super Screen could try to reach younger generations, that are not used to attend cinemas; or maybe, they should try to aim for more efficient social networks campaigns, instead of relying on traditional advertising methods, such as TV and billboards.

To sum up, the director's memo is not completely out of context, but it should address more precisely some questions in order to sound more substantiated and solid in its recommendation. Maybe the abovementioned questions and answers have already been analyzed, but considering them as assumptions may be misleading for the reader. Therefore, a more detailed decription of the proposed measure would provide better evidence for the reached conclusion.