The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The presented memorandum claims that the WWAC radio station should adopt new strategies to increase its number of listeners. Among them there are several proposals, such as changing music genre and delivering a new program format in order to turn the people who have recently moved in the area into listeners. However, as convincing as it may sound, this note fails to answer to some relevant questions which would help to outline the best strategy.

First, why changing the current rock-music format? This does not relate to the fact that the number of listeners has decreased. Moreover, the number of listeners in the area shows an opposite tendency and it should raise doubts about the decision of switching to a different genre. Did the managers of WWAC think about surveying people’s music tastes? They could find out rock-music is not the main problem and that maybe it is enjoyed by listeners. Therefore, the first assumption made in the memorandum is not grounded by any convincing evidence.

Second, if the willingness of the author to make new listeners out of the people moved in the area may be interesting, concluding they are not interested in music due to the closing of local stores shows a lack of understanding of the present time. I do not see how shops closing could be linked to the disinterest in music of retired people. In fact, the author does not ask himself if these people may have brought their recorded music and do not want to buy other CDs. Or, more probably, he is not informed about the habits and preferences of the people regarding how to buy music. It is some kind of myopic thinking that nowadays people do not buy and listen to music online, relying on streaming services. Stores could have closed because of the advent of new technologies, but they have not been asked about the reasons of interruption of their business; the author made once more an assumption supported by no evidence or data.

Third, would the news-and-talk format be successful without knowing what the audience is expecting or would like to listen to? Again, the author’s confidence about the success of that kind of format is unmotivated, or at least it is not proved by any concrete data. Additionally, the last sentence directly conflicts with the first one. In fact, in the first part of the memorandum rock-music format is said to be popular in the area, while in the last part it seems that a news-and-talk format would be preferred. By the lacking of clarity, we can easily deduce that the author has not a definite and precise idea of the audience’s taste.

To sum up, even though the presented ideas could be potentially applicable and advantageous for WWAC, they should be developed and detailed according to the aforementioned questions, which could help to evaluate the effectiveness of the claims in the memorandum. The author seems to neglect several aspects of the listeners’ inclinations, while his strategy should be based on firstly acknowledging what new listeners would expect and prefer by WWAC.