The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of the WWAC radio station stated in his memorandum that they should adapt to a news and talk format like radio rather than rock music format. The manager made this conclusion based on the assumption that number of listeners decreased in that area and the closing of several local stores which sold recorded music. However, when more light is shed on issues and more detailed facts are concerned, the lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity,

First of all, is it because of rock music that the number of listeners declined? It is possible that, people who are living in that area might have stopped listening any kind of music and there is a possibility that people might have completely stopped listening to any kind of music. If the above scenario is merit, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, does closing of local music selling shops means that people are not interested in listening to music? In other words, do people still go and buy music cassettes to listen to music? There is a chance that people might download from internet and listen in their mobile phones or they might have all the required cassettes. Maybe, the rent of the shops has increased high so that shop owners started moving their shops to different locations. If the above mentioned assumptions are true, then argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, will the popularity of radio be the same in the future years? Manager of WWAC suggested that to move to a form of radio but is there any evidence that radio holds the popular format in the coming years too? People in that area may not listen to radio in the coming years as technology in growing and lose interest in the music eventually. If the above questions are true, then argument’s validity can be lessen.

In conclusion, the argument, stated as of now, is considerably flawed. If the author is able to answer above mentioned questions and provide enough evidence then the argument can be evaluated fully.