In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author states that, introduction in hormone used for producing larger cows to produce more milk increased the obesity of children in Jalikistan. The author made this conclusion based on the assumption that after introduction of hormones the obesity of children has increased by 200%. And also, children who cannot digest milk and who drinks almond and soya milk have not experienced this problem. However, the conclusion can only be evaluated by answering 2 questions.

First of all, does children who were observed to have increase in the obesity did drink the milk produced by large cows? It is possible that children might have other food habits which increase the fat rather than milk such as fast foods like burgers, pizzas etc. If the above mentioned is true then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, do children who drink almond and soya milk perform regular exercises and maintain their fitness? It is possible that children who are considered to be having increase in the obesity might not do exercises . Perhaps, children who drink almond milk might perform few physical activities which reduce the fat content in the body. If the above scenarios hold merit, then argument cannot hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions then it is possible to evaluate the conclusion.