In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area ha

In order to increase milk production, some farmers in Jalikistan region started use of a hormone that was designed to produce larger cows thus increasing milk production. It was observed that the childhood obesity increased by 200% in jalikistan and author suggests reason for this is the hormone used, because milk consumption has not increased or decresed and children who are lactose intolerant donot show same increase in obesity. There could be various other reasons for increase in obesity.

It is possible that increased number of children are suffering from childhood obesity because of recent change in diet. It is possible that the people of Jalikstan have started to consume more amount of fatty food thus resulting in incresed obesity. All aspects of their life must be anlysed. Another possibility could be decrease in physical activity of children. This lack of physical activity could result in buildup of fat in children. Fat might be less in almold milk or soy milk compared to cow milk, so they demonstrate less obesity compared to children who drink cow milk.

We are only given increase in percentages, and percentages can belie the data. It is possible that earlier only one in ten thousand suffered from childhood obesity while now 3 in ten thousand are suffering from obesity. This may be considered minor aberration as sample size is very large and number are not serious as it is presented to be. This difference may be due to genetics or many other factor. Earlier obesity percentage in children was 0.01 and now it's just 0.03, still percentage increase is 200%. Also it says that children who are lactose intolerant donot have same per increase in obesity. It could be higher or marginally lower, we do not know. It may be 180% increase which would show that there is overall increase in obesity and that obesity has not incresed beause of hormone given to cows.

There are various reasons for increase in childhood obesity: it could be because of increased fatty food , lack of physical activity in children, minor aberration in data or could be a general increase in obesity overall. So we must analyse various possibilities before we assume that increase in obesity is because of hormones used to increase milk production.