The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

Kensington Academy has given management contract of its cafeteria to Swift Nutrition. This company has introduced low-calorie,low-fat meals.A parent is arguing that his son any many of his friends donot like this meal and so will prefer to bring there own lunch which will be less healthy and will be detrimental for health of the students. There are some questions that needs to answered before any decision is taken.

Firstly, do all students find food of Swift Nutrition bad? It's possible that the child and his friends donot like food while other students may not have any problem with new menu. Food taste is subjective, one may like it while other may not. It is not possible for school to satisfy each and every student. Parents must understand this and must encourage there children to eat healthy food that is being offered in the cafeteria.

Secondly, it seems far fetched that food that children will bring from home will cause serious health consequence. Why would parents send unhealthy food to school? If school apprises all parents, about the decision it has taken to serve healthy food then parents will be understanding and will infact tell their children to eat healthy.

Thirdly, is it not possible to make low fat, low-calorie food that taste's better? Swift Nutrition may change the receipe so that more students like the taste of food that they are eating. Not all low calorie, low fat food tastes bad!

Lastly, how will students start eating healthy if Swift Nutrition is replaced by some other company that serves unhelthy food? Parent suggests to remove Swift Nutrition from service but this will not solve the problem. If some other comapny serves same kind of healthy food, it seems unlikely that students will like it. On other hand, if company makes food to the liking of students is does not change the fact that children are eating less healthy food.

The principal must decide weathter only few students don't like the food or majority of them, also, argument that children bring food from home is far fetched and needs some backing of facts. Principal must also consider option of changing receipe in order to make food taste better without compromising on nutrition and also think about how changing the management would do any good.