According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies act

The advertising director has suggested to increase advertising budget because although the movies are receiving positive reviews the viewership dropped from last year and he assumes that it is because viewer are not aware about the positive reviews of the film. This may seem resonable assumption at first but on careful examination it seems falacious. Few questions must be answered before advertising budget is increased.

Firstly, is viewership of movies down overall or only Super Screen produced movies are facing decresing viewers? If there is decrease in number of movie goers all across country then reason for this would not be lack of advertising, but some other issues such as some alternate sources of entertainment. With increase in video streaming applications, the number of people to go to cinema might decrease. If other movies have same or higher viewership then conclusion of director to increase advertising might seem reasonable.

Secondly, was there any increase in ticket price? We are not given any details about change in ticket pricing policy, however, if prices have been increased people might be discouraged from watching movies eventhough they are receiving greater number of positive reviews. In such a scenario they should think about reducing the ticket price.

Lastly, what if people are not liking movies eventhough they are highly rated? Not all people go to cinema after reading reviews. There are even films that won several accolades but had poor viewership because they were not for the masses but for niche group of people. If such is the scenario, then director will not attract more viewers by advertisement. Production house must reconsider their movie selection policy.

Before the director increases the budget of advertising he must think about wheatherare all movies facing similar issue or wheather the ticket price has been increased or wheather the people donot like the fims that are highly appreciated by the critics. There could be various reasons for decreasing viewer and all options must be implored before taking the final decision.