Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The growth of a particular country is dependent on how well the government is acting and helping in the growth. The prompt states that, funding for a science experiment should not be taken up by the government if the final result is unclear. In my opinion, I agree with the prompts recommendation and argue that government should take necessary actions before accepting any likewise proposal.

To begin, there are a bunch of smart scientists present in the world now and their job is to do research and innovate something new. However, just because to innovate something few scientists experiment which doesn’t have any precautionary measures or accurate results. For example, in Chernobyl, scientists just went on doing experiment even though there was a warning sign. At the end, the reactor was broken and metal came out. This lead to harmful nuclear chemicals spread in the air and people from the surrounding cities were evacuated. The mentioned example suggests that, government should take necessary precautionary measures and also should be aware of the negative results and how will it affect the surroundings.

Further, it is well known that not every research is successful. A research will be successful only after a series of failures. This can only be done when the final result is well known. Before accepting to fund a research government must be well enough to provide the good quality machines required and also accurate measures if there is any fault. A research will never be successful if there is no end point for that. A failure in a big experiment leads to the decline in growth of the country be it land or the economy. For instance, till date no one is allowed to go near Chernobyl because the air is still polluted and is affecting the health of the humans. The economy of the Soviet Union has fallen drastically just because of one failure experiment. The example shows the importance of a research.

For example, consider two students working on a project. One who has clear cut of what final result will be and one who is just doing for the sake of doing it. A student with clear cut result image will know what needs to be done and will achieve the final result. However, a student with no such result in his mind will just end up completing with a different result. Same applies for the national research. If the final result is not well stated there is no developing in the experiment and it not at all advantageous for the country.

Few researched have been conducted by the government from different countries just to innovate and to increase the revenue for the country. There are few researched which were successful. However, the happening of this case is very rare as scientific experiments will not be successful overnight. They face number of problems and overcome them to achieve final result. A problem cannot be solved if there is no idea about the problem. Instead of doing the research it is better to not to start the research which doesn’t have any intended final result.