A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The caliber of a student is entirely dependent on the marks he scored in the examination. The prompt suggests that all the students of a particular country should have same syllabus until they enter college.

In my opinion, I agree with this recommendation as every student should be treated equally throughout the country.

To begin, the syllabus for a particular subject will be different from one school to other. When the curriculum is same for every school, students will be evaluated equally. For instance, a school might have an easy syllabus in mathematics and a student ends up scoring high marks than a student who studied more difficult syllabus in mathematics. The difference in the subject has a huge impact in the admission of the colleges as student who gets good mark by studying easy syllabus gets into a good and reputed college than a student who scored less marks while studying a complex syllabus. Having a common syllabus and common examination paper solves this critical case as a scholar student scores good marks and there is no negative impact.

Further, the syllabus of few schools might not be good enough to give the students good knowledge for further studies in college. If the curriculum is not well designed, students might face a problem in their college. For instance, in India there is an educational board for every state and curriculum changes for each state. Few states offer good subject and practical knowledge whereas few states don’t even offer a practical knowledge. Thus, there won’t be any practical exposure and students end up failing when they go to higher studies. The above mentioned example suggests that, educational government of a particular country must take care in designing an accurate curriculum which helps in the growth of the student to lead a successful career path.

High school subjects play an important role in shaping up student’s perspective on seeing the world. Teacher teaches what is present in the book and student believes it whether it is true or false. Hence, curriculum with good morals helps students to develop a good character in their life. In addition, students should have the liberty to select their subjects in which they want to study. A person only studies a subject well in which he is interested in.

Having the same knowledge till school and entering the college for further studies will be beneficial because every student will be on the same page as per their understanding and everyone will be following easily with the classes taught in the college. Same curriculum has many advantages in education however; school must not follow them blindly. They must make necessary changes in a way to help their students to study well.