Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would eous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The government plays a vital role in managing societies but main purpose of the government is to promote the growth of the scientific community. Scientific community is only responsible for the development and progress in the modern world. Some researches do not have their impact for now, but surely they can be used in the future somewhere. Therefore, the government should fund any scientific research even to those whose consequences are unclear.

To begin with, scientific research in the field of medicine has a severe impact on our lives. For instance, nowadays vaccines are available in a wide variety such as polio, smallpox, hepatitis. However, in earlier days these vaccines were not available and hence there is no medium for people to cure and hence these results in deaths of people. In addition to that, science is a platform for practicality and experimentation and is likely based on probability and chance. And without experiments, nothing can be achieved.

In addition, there are lots and lots of young minds that can be beneficial to science through research but if the government does not give funds for them then they might be discouraged beforehand. Sometimes scientific research produces a result that cannot be used immediately, for instance, Albert Einstein's, the world's famous scientist, who wrote lots of research papers that were considered useless by many people. But, roughly after 50 years of that, LASER was invented based on the same principle devised by Einstein. Also, there are lots of fields in science that are yet to be scrutinized, such as, epidemics, global warming, education, and other issues. Moreover, all this requires financial support, if the government does not give funds for this, researches will not progress further.

Coupled with good research there have been some possible scenarios where research can produce undesirable results, such as the generation of viruses, or weapons of mass destruction. Despite this, they urge us to make double our efforts to develop a technology that will overpower these negative impacts. Far more medicines are developed than that of the viruses. Diseases that were incurable before decades, for example, Cancer, can be treated very easily today.

In conclusion, the governments should give funds to all the scientific research, even if their consequences are unclear because even failures in research will provides an astute sense of judgment about the possibilities we should consider and the ones we should not.