The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources recommends implementing electronic monitoring of employee's Internet use by installing particular software to foster employee's productivity and to increase the company's overall profit. This argument seems to be valid at first glance, but when we analyze it in greater detail it is flawed.

First of all, the author assumes that installing software to monitor the employees' internet use will increase the productivity of the employee. However, it is possible that if such software is installed on their computers the employees might feel they not trusted, and controlled. Also, the author failed to mention any surveys ar studies that will show that installing such software were really increases the productivity of employees. Therefore the author should give more evidence for increasing productivity by monitoring software.

Secondly, the author cites that implementing monitoring software will prevent employees from wasting their time and will improve the overall profit of the company. It is possible that the employes might have other ways, such as talking on a private mobile phone, or having their personal laptops with them, if this is the case then it is still possible that they will waste their time by using such devices and installing software will not be profitable move here. Again the overall profit of the company depends on many other factors like the city/country in which the company is operating, customer demand for the products of a company, competitors of the company. The author should give more information about the employees of the company whether they are allowed to carry their laptops or not and the overall condition of the company.

Finally, the author assumes that monitoring their employees will foster a better work ethic at Climpson. However many organizations big and small belive in giving their employees an environment that will keep them free from the burden. For instance, Goggle offers his employees a better environment by proving playgrounds, games in office because this will keep them away from stress so that they should work efficiently. Similarly, many organization allows their employees to work from home, for employees convenience. In contrast, if Clipmson keeps watching on their employees then employees might not feel a better work ethic in Climpson and they may resign from there.

In conclusion, the recommendation is flawed in itself and to strengthen the authors argument author should give more information for increasing productivity of their employees, rules and regulation of the company, overall status of the company in market and measures to improve work ethic at Climpson before taking an decision to install monitoring software in employees computer. Unless the above factors are considered this recommendation might worsen the condition of the company rather than improving.