We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)? Use reasons and specific examples to explain why these characteristics are important.

Work is a most important part of our daily life. We spend most of the time working, of about almost five days a week in office, rather than the time we spend with our family. Thus the environment where we work should be very friendly and good enough to grow and get success. In my view, the most important characteristics of a good co-worker are helpfulness, mutual understanding, and the competitive nature to a limited extent.

First of all, the co-worker should be helpful while working in a team. When any work is done with the contribution of every worker, it is better than only the one worker taking all the efforts. If we have a helpful co-worker then all the work is equally distributed and it gets done easily. On the other hand, if only one worker works consistently, then the other one will get the credit free of cost. For instance, in my company our boss distribute the work to each team member, and because we are helpful to each other our task gets completed in time and easily. Also, we got the best team award this year. Thus, it is important to have a helpful co-worker.

Further, mutual understanding among employees is like the light in the dark street. Mutual understanding will help all the team members to go in the same direction and agree with each other opinions. Otherwise, there will be high chances of conflict and the team will be destroyed. The co-worker should be able to listen to others and have the potential to learn something when he doesn't know about it. For instance, one of my colleague is very stubborn to his opinion and always thinks that his opinion is perfect, even though in the subject where he lacks knowledge. This lead to conflict among the team members and our friendship gets ruined. Therefore, mutual understanding is very essential while working in a team.

Lastly, the competitive nature of the co-worker is necessary but to a certain extent. While walking on the path of success it is essential to have a competitor with you otherwise, you feel overconfident. But the competition should be limited to the work and the co-worker should accept this in a good aspect. For instance, if you work alone, you get the feeling of being your own boss because you don't have a competitor with you. However, if you compete with the co-worker then you both work hard to achieve success. But this should not show in your personal life. Hence, the competition among you and your co-worker is good to achieve success.

Thus, there are many characteristics of a good co-worker. But the most three important among them are the helpfulness, mutual understanding, and the competitive nature to a limited extent.