The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not wisdom but authority that makes a law. If the law is good enough then the people of the country will get benefited, but if the law is not good for the people, then they will suffer very badly. The speaker of the argument states that the well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority. I completely agree with the point, because if only one person raises voice against unfairness, we can see the difference in the laws, likewise when many people question authority, it is obvious that well being of the society will enhanced.

Firstly, when people question their authority, they feel somewhere doubted about the authority. And if one people raised the voice against the bad thing then, many people of the same thinking come forward to bolster that one man. It is always better to have many people than one to take some steps to improve our society. Moreover, when we question our authority, the members of the authority, have to give us proofs against our claim. This makes the people having a clear insight into the process and nothing is hidden from them. For instance, if there is corruption in government schemes, it is better to ask leaders where they have spent the funds and how much. Hence they have to provide proofs against this and they will be punished if some malfunctioning found.

Additionally, from many decades women's are considered suitable to only household chores, but unless some people raise questions against this, the womens will don't have the status they have today in our society. Today women have the same right of equality to work like men. And there is huge contribution of the women, in every field today, from household chores to technological advancement. For example, in the USA, one of the most developed nations in the world, women are deprived to vote for a long time. But after lots of effort, they have secured women suffrage, in the late 19th century. Therefore, for the enhancement of society, it is good to question.

However, those who question the authority are often perceived as iconoclast and heretic, nevertheless, questioning often gives out the unexpected results and contributes to our understanding of the world. In the past, Galileo was persecuted for questioning the Heliocentric theory, sun and other planet revolves around the Earth. But his prediction that the Earth revolves around the Sun has debunked many myths in the past and was seminal in advancing our understanding of the Physics.

In conclusion, it is good to question authority, if questioning against authority can be beneficial to society. If people have doubts in there mind against authority, and they didn't ask questions then the laws, procedures will be as it is for a long period and hence everyone will suffer. But if people raise questions against the laws and procedures, they can be improved and people will get benefit from it.